Jeff Mariotte

Cutting Block Single Slices

Publisher: Farolight Publishing/Cutting Block Books

Date: August 25, 2017

Pages: 292

ISBN: August 25, 2017

(Patrick Beltan, ed.)

With Marsheila Rockwell

From the publishers who brought you the multiple Bram Stoker Award® nominated Horror Library anthology series, now comes Cutting Block Single Slices, Volume 1 — a new collection of slightly longer short stories that will make it hard to sleep with the light off.

From a classic possessed puppets story, to mysterious green mists and gods wreaking havoc, to an old-style Hollywood ghost and other supernatural horrors, this collection brings you stories you’ll enjoy from skilled horror fabulists such as Marsheila Rockwell & Jeffrey J. Mariotte, John F.D. Taff, Tom Johnstone and others.

Some chills are best served in Slices!

(Available in trade paperback only.)

The story by Marsheila Rockwell and me, “The Lottons Show,” was originally published on its own as the first volume of the “Single Slices” line, then combined with other stories for this collection. The original text for the standalone story was:

Afraid of clowns?

How about clowns and puppets?

Neither is Dave, until a client at his self-storage facility defaults, and Dave takes possession of the unit’s contents. What he finds is a nostalgic glimpse into the mystery of Lottons, the TV clown from his boyhood.

But he soon realizes that this treasure is no bargain—unless it’s the kind made with the devil, from which there’s no coming back. Nostalgia, Dave learns, is for suckers, because yesterday never stays buried, and tomorrow can last a very long time indeed…

Cover for the original standalone story by Lynne Hansen:



View All Publications